A Helping Hand by Dawn Montgomery

Kathy’s Note: Reblogging this so I have a link I can refer back to when I am in the blues. Especially this line: You’re not a failure. You’re human.

Repeating: You’re not a failure. You’re human.

A Round of Words in 80 Days

“Help me” and “I don’t understand” are two of the hardest phrases to say when you feel really passionate about your book and writing career. We have this strange idea that saying these words to other writers will diminish how they see us.

“I’m discouraged” and “I don’t think I can do this” are two others that drag you into the depths of isolation. You shut yourself down and wonder why you decided to do it in the first place.

I wish I understood why we feel the need to shut ourselves away from others, but everyone does it.

Everyone. Does. It.

I’ve been writing for almost a decade now and I can’t tell you how many times I struggled and stared at my computer screen with despair. That inner editor whispered so many times how much of a failure I was. A fraud. Faking my way through the first…

View original post 586 more words

