AROW80 Check-In for December 15, 2013

Hooboy,I am beat like a rented mule! Mainly because it’s 548 am my time and I just got home from work and I am tiiiired. *whines and flops* But, here’s a quick check-in since tomorrow is going to be a bit hectic.

  • Writing Goals:
    • Defcon: Fade Out: I added a bit more to Chapter Seven; it’s not done yet but should be if I put some effort into it.  The good news is that Chapter Eight is more or less written and just needs to be edited into the current worldview thingy of the book (I mentioned I’m writing this at nearly 6am after work, right? My brain, she is owwie).
      • I came up with a slight alteration of the plot, regarding the motivations/reasons for why some things are going on based off of a chapter in Freakonomics (was listening to the audiobook in the car this week). So, color me happy!
  • Gem City:  No progress on the typing up or editing of any stories, but I did a bit more meta work on power levels, looked up the entymology of the word ‘mook’ and learned some interesting things, wrote a scene snippet that I’m pretty proud of.
    • Speaking of audio books, I’m currently listening to the unabridged version of Anthony Bourdain’s Kitchen Confidential as read by the man himself. For some reason, his stories of learning the restaurant business is resonating with me as the voice of a lifelong henchman. It seems to be a combination of Bourdain’s voice and the bad boy, shadowy insular vibe that comes from his stories.  Or maybe it has something to do with this quote about the book from Wikipedia:
    • The commercial kitchen is described as an intense, unpleasant and sometimes hazardous place of work staffed by what he describes as misfits. Bourdain believes it’s no place for hobbyists and all those entering this industry will run away screaming if they lack a masochistic, irrational dedication to cooking.

        • Yeah, that sounds a lot like a henchman’s work environment to me, all right.
  • Other Stuff: 
    • Finally started reading Of Mice and Men — I was surprised to find out it was such a teeny book.
    • Still reading comics but I think I might have to switch to another library because I’ve kind of pumped the one I’m going to dry.  I’m thinking the other branch of this library will have some titles that this one doesn’t have.  Also, there’s the other library system in the city that I need to plumb.
    • Kitchen got cleaned! Because I made a deal with the girlfriend that if she cleaned it, I would go out and get groceries (we have a very, very small kitchen so this was entirely equitable).
  • Current Goals: Pretty much the same as they were on the 11th, except minus the kitchen cleaning and add in wrap presents.

Hope everybody is having a good week; y’all take care.

Powered by Linky Tools — Blog Hop for A Round of Words in 80 Days, the writing challenge that knows you have a life!

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

6 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-In for December 15, 2013

  1. I love the first line of this post. LOL. That’s how I feel to lately. I made a deal with my kids to clean my kitchen last weekend. I said clean, they did. It didn’t hurt that I had about 50 people showing up and my kids knew there would be tons-o-food! Happy writing!

  2. My hubby loves comics, mostly in the DC Universe, but I don’t really get past Batgirl and The Walking Dead. 🙂 Good luck with all of your goals!

    • Oh man, speaking of series I need to get caught up on! I love the Walking Dead comics — still haven’t watched the show which is sad since I own the first season on DVD. And thank you!

  3. Really like the voice and energy of this post. Our library lets us order up any book/publication in the system and deliver it to our home library. Does yours? Sounds like you don’t have a lot of time to run around. I don’t know anything of your WIP but listening to Bourdain’s tales sounds perfect for the ‘henchmen’ — good progress on all fronts. May your week ahead be a good one.

    • Thank you! And yes, it does, which is really convenient since one of our city libraries has like 30 branches spread out over the entire metro area. I love using that for when I know what I’m looking for but sometimes I end up finding stuff just browsing that I didn’t realize was there. Hope you have a good week too!

Comments are closed.