AROW80 Check-in for December 22, 2013

This check-in is going to be short because I got to bed waaay late yesterday and am exhausted this morning (I work overnights, so while it’s technically 0607 in the morning here (redundant, I know), it’s almost past time I went to bed if I want to be rested tomorrow).  Sooo, getting on with it!

Writing Goals:  no bullet list tonight, since I only really worked on Defcon: Fade Out,  But, on the plus side, I managed to finish Chapter Eight! Okay, so I was basically editing/adding to an old draft of Chapter Eight but I am calling this a win!

I also created a scene inventory for what I have written for Defcon: Fade Out.  Because I didn’t write the original drafts in any kind of real logical order, I got it in my head that it would be a good idea to type the book up in Scrivner according to the POV character of a particular scene.  So, now I have a bunch of print outs of scenes listed by character and I went through and wrote out the first line or so of each scene on a list so I can now go shopping through the scenes quickly to find ones to use to plug into the huge, gaping, massive, “Dear God, what was I thinking?!” holes in the story.  And, because I figured out that I don’t have a draft of Chapter Nine yet, I was able to do just that and create a very rough outline that I can work from.   When I wake up tomorrow (which is technically later today), I’m going to copy the selected scenes into a Word Document so I can edit them without having to flip between four different physical documents.

I also came up with some plot-type ideas for Butcher’s Bill which I put in my notebook for later re-visiting.

Current Goals: Sleep the sleep of the just and hopefully not toss and turn for 2 hours like I did last night because my brain wouldn’t shut up. Also, to write/create Chapter Nine of Defcon: Fade Out with an ultimate goal of maybe having it and Chapter Ten done by December 31st.  So that way I can do Chapters 11-20 in 2014 and feel all smug and symmetrical. Which is itself not symmetrical…..okay, bed time it is!

I hope you all have a wonderful holiday season and huge thanks to all of you for your encouragement. Finding this community has been a great experience and I’m very happy to know you all.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

5 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-in for December 22, 2013

  1. I’m a bit sleep deprived myself, so I’m right there with you! Sounds like you’re getting your stuff together and have some feasible goals, so good luck getting everything you want accomplished this week!

    • Thankfully, after tonight I’ve got 2 days off and I don’t go in to work again until late in the evening on Christmas Day so I’ll get to recharge a bit. And thank you for the encouragement and the same to you as well!

  2. Pingback: AROW80 Check-In for December 26, 2013 | Doomsday Writer!

Comments are closed.