AROW80 – First Round Goals List:

ROW80Logocopy

Powered by Linky Tools A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life. If you’re interested in joining, you can visit  the above link for more information and then Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

# # # # # # #

Ok, so it’s the first round of 2014! Whoo!  I started with A Round of Words in 80 Days during the last month or so of the last round of 2013.  I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I have to say that even in the short time I’ve been involved with this group, I’ve gotten some very positive benefits out of it. I’m finding that it is easier to keep a goal if I have to tell other people about it, but since there’s no pressure to reach a set word goal per day, it’s also easier to forgive myself if I don’t meet a particular goal. Being able to ‘talk’ out loud about what I’m working on and get feedback has been very helpful. If this is your first time with AROW80, welcome! For the folks I met last time, howdy again!

This will be my first full round and I’ve come up with a list of goals that I hope to be successful with this time around. Further information on these projects can be found on this post, under my Current Projects Index page.  So, with crossed fingers and a hopeful heart, here goes my list in order by the project’s current priority (the goals are not in any kind of priority order, they’re just what I think needs to be done for that project):

DEFCON: FADE OUT – Top Priority:

  • Finish writing the complete draft of Defcon: Fade Out –  Since November 1st, 2013 I’ve averaged about a chapter every six days. I’m currently on Chapter 11 of a projected twenty so I’m looking at about 56 days if I can maintain the same momentum.
  • Type up the complete draft of Defcon: Fade Out.  Luckily, I type about 90 words a minute so this will be fairly quick. In theory.
  • Give the typed-up draft to people to read.
  • Build a blanket fort in which to hide while draft is being read by friends so I will have a secure place in which to shake like a Chihuahua standing on Jello during an earthquake from nerves.
  • Complete Character Checklists for all of my POV characters and major secondary characters. This is something I should have done a while ago, but I find that characters tend to create themselves while I write. (I’ve got a whole word document full of links various checklists for character creation and worldbuilding to choose from, thankfully).
  • Complete a couple other worldbuilding checklists for things that have an impact on the series as a whole.  Ditto that these should have been done earlier but c’est la vie.
  • Begin plotting out books 1-3 and 5 and figuring out what other sorts of checklists I might need to complete for them.

GEM CITY: — Secondary Priority:

  • Type up drafts of stories currently residing in my thinky thoughts book.
  • Complete Character Checklists for main characters, especially William Cartwright, the Shamus Who Has No Shame.
  • Complete Species and Religion Checklist for the Deros
  • Plot out at least one story set in this ‘verse.

BUTCHERS’ BILL – Tertiary priority; probably going to be held over to Round 2:

  • Print out original drafts and give it a read over, see what can be salvaged and create a scene inventory.
  • Complete Species Creation Checklist for vampires so I can establish the rules for what they can and cannot do in this ‘verse.
  • Complete Character Checklists for main characters (sensing a trend, are we?)
  • Plot out book incorporating some new ideas I’ve had for the plot
  • Look into potential research sources for new plot ideas.

KINSTEALER – Back Burner: This idea still needs to percolate since currently there’s not much to it than a bunch of very nebulous thoughts and concepts.  I’m considering writing this one as a Young Adult novel, but I’m not sure. We’ll see how things go.  As should be expected, a variety of checklists need to be finished for this ‘verse.  

 OTHER GOALS:  

  • Complete individual project pages
  • Read the books on writing that I got for myself
  • Not freeze during the cold snap that’s lasting until Tuesday around here.

OTHER STUFF OF INTEREST:

  • I joined WANA — anybody else a member?
11 thoughts on “AROW80 – First Round Goals List:

    • Thanks and same to you as well. I’m brand new to WANA so I’m still finding my way over there.

      edited to add: can I also look you up over there?

  1. I’m a WANA! I’m (usually) very active in their Hour a Day tribe. 🙂 And I usually get my hour in eventually. ;-D

    Can I join you in your blanket fort, though? Blanket forts are warm, and right now, Texas is freeezzziiiing. You don’t even need to quiver – I’m shivering enough for two!

    • Cool! Can I look you up over there?

      Anybody who wants to be in the blanket fort is welcome in the blanket fort. All we gotta do to expand is add more blankets!

  2. A chihuahua in Jell-o…. Now THAT is definitely an image, Kathy. Love it! (also love the idea of building a blanket fort to hide in during the beta reads… must add to my bucket list)

    The WANA crew is an amazing bunch of people (yes, several ROWers are members). I’m kind of a lax member… it’s too easy to spend all day hanging out and none of it writing among the group; they really are that fun.

Comments are closed.