AROW80 Check-In for January 15, 2014

First off, I want to apologize for not checking in with as many folks as I usually do this time around.  Real life circumstances — mostly involving a lack of sleep — got in the way but I will endeavor to do better this time around!

Previous Goals: 

  • Up to Season Four in Supernatural! The fit has hit the shan, for Sam and Dean! These are some episodes I’ve never seen so I’m enjoying not getting so many minutes into an episode and going “Oh! Yeah! This is the one where the refrigerator is haunted by the ghosts of leftovers past!”
    • For research purposes, the show is raising some interesting questions about what it means to hunt monsters/live with knowledge that the majority of people don’t have.
  • I finished Defcon: Fade Out Chapter Eleven and I’m working on Chapter 12 now. This one will probably take a bit of doing since it’s a chapter I’m going to have to write from whole cloth but forward motion is continuing and I am happy.
  • I started reading Story Engineering  I finished the chapters on Concept last night at work — and even took notes!
    • On the one hand, I like the book a lot and I think Brooks’ approach is very valuable — it’s certainly a lot more practical than some story writing books I’ve read and I like that.
    • On the other hand, I’m beginning to suspect that Defcon as a whole and this book in particular needs a lot more work than I thought it did. Which is actually something I’ve been worried about for a while now, but Brooks’ book is helping me to put words to my doubts.  This is probably a good thing.  No, it is definitely a good thing, but it is also making me want to whine and stomp my feet because it feels like the work will never end and I’m never going to have a finished book and *flail*.
    • On the third hand, I know that there will be an end and I will finish the work and there is no need to flail like an angry Muppet.

kermit-yay-flail-o

Like this, only with more swearing and maybe tears…

Goals for the Week:

  • Keep working on Defcon: Fade Out, because if nothing else, I’m at least getting A narrative written down.
  • Keep reading Story Engineering and taking notes. Also to try following the Concept exercise to help flesh out my ideas.
  • I’m also reading Writing the Fiction Series by Karen S. Wiesner. I’m thinking that this book and Story Engineering are going to dove-tail together nicely.
  • Keep reminding myself that, as Jake the Dog says:

Dude sucking at something

Powered by Linky Tools, A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life. You can learn more here and if you want to join, you can Click here to view this Linky Tools list and to enter your own link as well!

15 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-In for January 15, 2014

    • I’ve seen bits and pieces of it, but never really sat down and watched it. Why, I don’t know because from what I can tell from what I’ve seen and various gif-sets here and there, it looks to be right up my particular street!

      Which is a long-winded, Nano-padding way of saying, “Me too!” *G*

  1. I can so related to that sudden sinking feeling that as you learn more, you are suddenly overwhelmed with realizing how much you still have to work on. I am currently going through the last (really this time) draft of a novel that has gone through 3 or 4 evolution as we learned more and I really think it’s worth it in the end :).

    • It’s so harrrd! *whines* But, really, I’m trying to tell myself that what I’m working on now is really just the first full draft. What I had before were collections of unconnected scenes needing to be strung together in a way that makes sense.

      If you don’t mind my asking, how do you know when you get to the last draft? Is it just like a feeling of ‘yes, this is good’ or ‘this is ready?’ Or is it something different?

      • I think, you can’t know when you’re done. But if you let it rest for two or three months (while continuing to read and write and learn) and after that time you still honestly like it… I think that’s as close as I came. Truly honest beta readers help too, but they are very rare on the ground ;).

  2. LOL! I have no idea what cartoon Jake the Dog comes from, but that is a wonderful quote. 😀

    Ooo… I’m interested in what you’ll think of Story Engineering and Writing the Fiction Series, when you’ve finished them both.

    • He’s on a series called Adventure Time which, like I mentioned above, I am aware of but don’t actually *watch* for reasons that befuddle me. But I do love that quote.

      I will keep you posted!

  3. Sounds like you’re really digging into your writing, with words flying all over the place as you take the plunge. The flailing Muppet put a smile on my face and Jake the Dog is a very wise pooch, indeed! Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving kind words in your wake. 🙂

    • I am trying! Not as hard as I probably should but I’m not doing nothing so I’m calling it a win of sorts *grins*

      You’re very welcome! Your book sounds like it’ll be a lot of fun to read and I wish you the best of luck with it!

  4. I am such a pantser, and I’ve learned to trust the process and simple write. Then, I can fix issues in editing. I’m too analytical/critical of myself and my writing, so I have to just go with the words and then obsess over them once they are all there (I have a hard time thinking editing is ever done). Wishing you all the best with your WIP.

    I need to get back to Supernatural. Used to watch it, but I’ve missed out on the last few seasons. You’ve inspired me to get back to it.

    • For shorter pieces, I can pants pretty well; but I’m finding that for a novel length piece, I need to do some planning, otherwise I end up writing draft after draft trying to make things work. But I can certainly sympathize with needing to have the words *out* in order to make sense of a thing!

  5. Yes, it is better to have the narrative and then later have something to work with than nothing at all. Great job working your goals! Love your angry Muppet!

    I’m glad Story Engineering is working for you. I found it to be very frustrating because I would get to chapter six and it would say that if that still sounds less than precise go back to the previous chapter, which I did time and again. Maybe I was having a bad day and need to look at it again while playing Bach so it will sink in. Maybe it will work for me then.

Comments are closed.