I, Frankenstein Review — SPOILERS AHEAD!

Just got back from seeing I, Frankenstein with the girlfriend and since a couple folks asked me to let them know how it was, here goes. I’m going to try to keep the visible spoilers to a minimum. My more detailed and spoilery thoughts are going under cover; you can highlight them and read them if you want and avoid them if you don’t. The code comes from here: http://amadi.dreamwidth.org/40143.html?format=light

I, Frankenstein Review

Overall, long story short review: It was a good turn off your brain and don’t think about it too hard kind of movie.  It’s only about an hour and a half long, so the story is compressed.  I think it might have been better if it had been at least a half an hour longer and gone into the main character’s backstory a bit more and set up more of the world.  If you like Supernatural or Van Helsing and the Blade movies, you’ll probably enjoy this one.

Also, this is the first time I’ve ever seen a 3D movie and it was soooo cool! The glasses worked and everything! I’d been told once by an eye doctor that I’d never be able to see 3D movies but they must’ve improved the technology because I was able to see it just fine.

The main story of the movie is that 200 years ago, Frankenstein’s monster killed his creator’s bride and the scientist died trying to hunt the monster down.  The monster then finds himself in the middle of a war between two supernatural groups and the main part of the story takes place in the present day in a city that might be London, based on the accents of the majority of the people in the cast and some of the architecture.

The Creature ends up being a pawn in the battle between good and evil (as y’do) and is also struggling some with his own identity though this isn’t really addressed that much and is kind of wrapped up quickly near the end.

By the way, the demise of the big bad is pretty frickin’ clever.

One semi-major nitpick under the highlight: The good guys in this film annoyed me because they came across as the kind of arrogant good guys that I just *hate*. The sort who think that because they are the good guys, whatever they do is right and just. Like, oh, not bothering to talk to the Creature about his situation and offering to help him avoid the evil forces out to get him. They even name him, like you’d name a dog. (The fact that they named him “Adam” of all the overly cliché names for artificially created beings, didn’t help, either.)

All in all though, I enjoyed I, Frankenstein. It was goofy and there were some plot holes you could sail an aircraft carrier through but that’s kind of what you should be expecting from a Frankenstein’s Monster vs. Gargoyles movie, isn’t it?

Edited to add: Aaron Eckhart, the guy who plays the Creature in this movie does an awesome job and makes for a damn attractive cobbled together reanimated corpse. I mean, there’s a point where the Creature takes off his shirt and it’s like, “How did Victor Frankenstein find such a good-looking bunch of corpses in 18th century Germany? Was there a set of octuplet super-models in the village or what?” This is not a complaint.

One thought on “I, Frankenstein Review — SPOILERS AHEAD!

  1. Pingback: AROW80 Check-In for January 26, 2014 | Doomsday Writer!

Comments are closed.