AROW80 Check-In for February 5, 2014

I want to go on record as saying that if I ever get my hands on that damn groundhog….I won’t do anything to him because I am a soft touch for all animals, even ones who have consigned me to fresh frozen hell AGAIN! And there’s more coming this weekend?! AUUUGH!!

Thankfully, there are thirteen seasons of Midsommer Murders on Netflix.

Previous Goals:

  • Personal Goals: I’ve been taking my meds as scheduled; haven’t been able to do much in the way of exercise because it freaking snowed again. I have been trying to watch my diet and eat less/eat better. This is made tricker by being stuck in the house thanks to the FREAKING SNOW THAT WILL NEVER STOP inclement weather that seems to be visiting us again, oh dear.
    • I did make a dental appointment, but it was for my girlfriend who had a tooth crack. Luckily, it didn’t split near the nerve and the dentist says that it can be fixed with a filling instead of a crown (which is a cost difference of about 800 bucks so, yay dentist!).
  • Writing Goals: I am briefly stalled on Chapter Twelve of Defcon: Fade Out, due to a research question. But, I did enough research tonight that I can fake my way through the scene and fix it in editing.
  • Speaking of research: I got another load of books through Interlibrary Loan, including Civil Defense Begins At Home by Laura McEnaney, which talks about American nuclear civil defense efforts in the 1950s and has a whole chapter about African Americans and civil defense which speaks to my interests! Wooot!

Goals for This Week:

  • Write up a post for Insecure Writer’s Support Group
  • Work on Chapter 12
  • Appease the snow gods, possibly by sacrificing a chocolate chip cookie to them. Well, the essence of chocolate chip cookie; the physical cookie I will eat so as to not muss the sacrificial area.
  • Shovel my sidewalk, for all the good it’s going to do.

Hope everybody who is in cold places is keeping warm and everyone in hot places is finding a way to keep cool.

Also: I’ve hit 50 posts! WHOOT!

Powered by Linky ToolsA Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life. You can learn more here and if you want to join, you can Click Here to view this Linky Tools list and to enter your own link as well!

9 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-In for February 5, 2014

  1. I LOVE reading the materials from the 1950’s. One of my WIPs is a dystopian zombie novel, so I’ve been doing a lot of research as well. Insecure writer’s group? Is there any other kind?

    • Me too, it’s a very interesting time. In my case, I’m researching the 1950s to have a better understanding of the 1980s but I’ve got another idea in mind that may require more looking at the 1950s for itself.

      And dystopian zombie novel sounds good — what kind of things have you been researching?

  2. I am pretty ticked off with that groundhog myself…

    Where is your IWSG post? That was goal number one on your list. I hope you are out shoveling that sidewalk or making that sacrifice to the snow gods.

    Leanne Ross ( readfaced.wordpress.com & @LeanneRossRF )

  3. I think these extra six weeks of winter are because Punxsutawney Phil is getting his revenge on those people determined to wake him up at the beginning of February. Woodchucks (a.k.a. Groundhogs) are notably nasty rodents, and they are true hibernators, so they really would rather be sleeping right now.

    I almost can’t blame the poor chap.

    And I definitely feel for your girlfriend. As someone who has more porcelain in her mouth than calcium (and nearly as much amalgam), I can relate to her situation. It’s nice to hear that your dentist thinks it can be fixed with just a buildup. Just, from my experience, that’s just delaying the inevitable, and a crown usually is needed within a few years after. YMMV

    Your pile of research books sounds cool as usual. 😀

    • Ok, so now I feel sorry for the groundhog, because God knows I hate having my sleep interrupted…

      The dentist thinks that the filling will hold but yeah, I wouldn’t be surprised if this isn’t a delaying action but if it delays until she’s got dental insurance, that’s fine by me! *G*

      Thanks and oh yes, they are. *rubs hands eagerly* Can’t wait to get into them.

      • Oh, yes! Dental insurance is … well, you know… vital.

        And yeah, that’s kind of what I thought when I learned about the whole Groundhog Day thing. Might as well take advantage of the whole hibernation thing and settle down for som good reading time. 🙂

    • We got lucky, we didn’t get much in the way of snow — maybe 2-4 inches — it was more the blowing wind and cold. Luckily we’re in town and not out in the country where the flat lands and high winds are apparently making for some bad drifting.

      And the cookies were marvelous and thank you very much! I believe in you too!

Comments are closed.