AROW80 Check-In for February 19, 2014

Happy Wednesday, did you have a nummy breakfast? I had teriyaki chicken and a loaded baked potato and it was pretty darned nummy.

The last couple days have been busy-busy-busy and hurry-scurry around here. The girlfriend is potentially starting a new job soon (she’s kind of Schroedinger’s Temp right now in that we’re pretty sure she’s getting the job but we don’t know when she’ll be starting).  This has required a lot of filling out of forms and then the faxing of said forms as well as drug tests and fingerprinting, plus she’s getting her teeth worked on and had her first appointment for fillings today. Which went very well, to the point that you can only just barely tell where the fillings were put in. It looks like the tooth never even broke.

And I was finally a good girl and signed up for a dental appointment for next week. So, go me!

Had the appointment with the dietitian yesterday and got some good advice about planning a diet to help manage my diabetes. Really, it all comes down to things I already know and should be doing, but that I don’t do because the bad habits are easier.  But, I’m going to be making a change because easy habits are going to make things harder on me in the long run.

I’ve also got an appointment with a doctor over at the diabetes education center as the dietitian I saw — not sure exactly what I’m seeing them for, but likely it’s something to do with helping me to get my A1C back down toward 7.0 and to help keep me from having to take insulin.  I’ve got kind of a phobia about having to go on insulin — partly because I hate needles and partly because I know that when I do manage my diet and make an effort to take care of myself, that my health can and does improve. And I want to work harder on that because insulin + bad habits isn’t going to be a fix either.

That and I am oh my God so afraid of needles it is not even funny. I am not kidding.

On a cheerier note, I’ve discovered a podcast called The Thrilling Adventure Hour,

The Thrilling Adventure Hour is a staged production in the style of old time radio that is held monthly at the Coronet Theatre. The show has been running since March 2005. It is live audio theater. Each episode features three non-serialized segments as well as songs and commercials from fictional sponsors. The show is written by Ben Acker and Ben Blacker and directed by Aaron Ginsburg. The show’s original songs are written by Acker & Blacker with composer and band leader Andy Paley.

The podcast breaks the show into the different segments (descriptions of which are at the above link), so you can follow one show or listen to all the different podcasts. My current favorite is Beyond Belief which is kind of like an urban fantasy version of the The Thin Man and spoofs all sorts of different fantasy/horror stories which can be seen in titles like “Rosemary’s Baby Shower” or “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang You’re Dead” (Christine).

Among the other series on the Thrilling Adventure Hour are science fiction shows like Sparks Nevada, Marshall on Mars, The Cross-Time Adventures of Colonel Tick-Tock and Cactoid Jim, King of the Martian Frontier, a superhero story, Captain Laserbeam and over-the-top spy/adventure stories about Amelia Erhart, Fearless Flyer and Jefferson Reid, Ace American (which features Nathan Fillion as Jefferson Reid).    You can find episodes for download on iTunes and at Nerdist.com.

The Thrilling Adventure Hour was recommended by the folks who do the Welcome to Night Vale podcast (also awesome and weird and incredibly endearing — particularly considering it is a show that features a little girl who is a disembodied man’s hand, a man with a suitcase full of flies and mysterious dog park.)

WELCOME TO NIGHT VALE is a twice-monthly podcast in the style of community updates for the small desert town of Night Vale, featuring local weather, news, announcements from the Sheriff’s Secret Police, mysterious lights in the night sky, dark hooded figures with unknowable powers, and cultural events.

Turn on your radio and hide.

The show is also available at iTunes or Stitcher or Libsyn or Feedburner or Soundcloud.

My only complaint about Welcome to Night Vale is that episodes come out on the 1st and the 15th, and since I’ve listened to the entire archive, now I have to wait for new episodes to come out. WHINE!

Right so, on to goals and such:

Personal Goals: These are easy-peasy this week

  • Work on following diet plan that the dietitian worked out and generally making better food choices.
  • Keep dentist appointment next week — which’ll be a new patient visit with X-rays and the finding out of how bad my teeth are. I have a feeling my dental insurance is going to get one hell of a work out.
  • Work on getting exercise, which should be easier now that the snow has begun to melt off (MELT SNOW! MELT! MELT! MELT! AHAHAHAHAHAHAA!).

Writing Goals:

  • I finished Defcon: Fade Out Chapter Fourteen on Sunday night/Monday morning and have moved on to Chapter Fifteen.
  • I’m getting close to the end of Defcon: Fade Out which is at once terrifying and awesome.  Awesome because I’ll have finished a book for the first time ever and terrifying because I have no idea how I’m going to get from where I am to an ending. Any and all advice, sincerely appreciated!
  • I’m listening to an audiobook called The Family That Couldn’t Sleep : A Medical Mystery by D.T. Max about prion diseases — things like scrapie, mad cow disease, kuru, etc.  It’s fascinating, but I kind of wish I hadn’t listened to the part about how prions are nearly impossible to kill by any of the usual disinfecting methods and can be passed on by contaminated dental instruments….

Powered by Linky ToolsA Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life. You can learn more here and if you want to join, you can Click Here to view this Linky Tools list and to enter your own link as well!

2 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-In for February 19, 2014

  1. As a hater of needles, I wish you the best with your new diet. You can do it!

    My advice for getting to the ending is write anything and everything it could be. Even the cheesy ideas. Even the ones that don’t fit the genre. Something always sparks when I do that.

    You’ll be fine at the dentist. Promise.

    Have a great week.

    • Thanks! I’ve started making a few small changes and have already noticed that I feel better. Though I know what’s going to be tough is maintaining the changes over the long haul but journey of a lifetime begins with the first step and such like that!

      I read your advice and my first thought was “And then, top hats and canes appeared and everyone danced to ‘One Singular Sensation’ while fireworks went off in the sky.” Which is not necessarily a bad ending — perhaps not appropriate for the piece but still, it is an ending!

      Hope you have a great week too and plenty of nummy breakfasts.

Comments are closed.