AROW80 Check-In: May 28, 2014

It has finally started to rain — a nice downpour that makes me want to go lay down and listen to Skeptoid podcasts about strange and weird things. So, y’know, that’s what I’m a’gonna do ‘cuz I am lazy.

Two more days until my schedule becomes less nuts! Yay!

Writing Goals: Still as they stand; read and ponder, ponder and read. Typing starts June 1st, like it or not.

Reading Goals:  Got a cool new book called The Knowledge: How to Rebuild Our World from Scratch by Lewis Dartnell, which is pretty much what it says on the tin. He talks about building a kit of knowledge that would allow a post-apocalyptic society to rebuild a technological civilization. Things like, how to rotate crops and make soap (which leads to chemistry) and such other necessities that would make the post-apocalyptic life less nasty, brutish and short.   Highly recommend it, especially since he’s got a nice bibliography of other useful books.

5 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-In: May 28, 2014

  1. We had a good rainstorm here last night, and we needed it. (Plus, there’s something about rain that makes me want to curl up with a cup of tea and a good book.)

    I hadn’t heard of Dartnell’s book before, but I’m going to have to track down a copy. I’m sure my hubby would love it.

    • I’m almost all the way through the book and I can most definitely recommend it. My one complaint is that it’s short on like, formulas and the actual processes of how to do some of the things it talks about but, the book does have an extensive bibliography pointing to other sources. It’s also a good starting point for building a store of knowledge.

  2. Cool book! I’ve heard of a lot of other survival manuals and have looked at many of them, but never felt much “magic” in the information. Never heard of those one before though…. Will have to check it out.

    Am also checking out the Skeptoids… How did I miss this podcast? (You really find the coolest stuff, Kathy. Thanks.)

    Sounds like you’re getting yourself both inspired and getting some creative downtime. Good for you!

    • Replying to your comment in reverse order:

      Thanks! I’m trying!

      You are welcome about the Skeptoid!

      The Knowledge just came out this year and I found it in the science section of the bookstore rather than over by the survival manuals. Like I said in my reply to Denise above, it’s a good general information book and gives a lot of good ideas about things a post-apocalyptic society could do to recover. It’s also better about long term survival than most of the survival manuals I’ve read/seen, which seem to focus more on the short-term.

Comments are closed.