AROW80 Check-In: 7/16/2014

Typing Goals: As of 11:51 pm Dayton, Ohio time, I am at 11,005 words and am on Chapter Three, Scene Five. I’m hoping to get in at least a couple more scenes tonight (Chapter Three is a ridiculously long one).

Edited to add:  As of 0214 am 7/17/14 — 13,157 words and just finished Scene Six!

The outlining is going well; it’s now around 4 pages long and growing. Part of me is kind of worried about  whether I should be working on revising as I go but I’m afraid if I do that, I’m going to end up spinning my wheels and endlessly rewriting the first three chapters. So, for now, I’m going to continue on typing away and making notes. And maybe revising things here and there as I go without making it a huge commitment.

One big problem I’ve been having with this project is the fact that I am working on what is supposed to be the LAST book in a series so even once I finish it, I still have to write four other books before I can consider trying to sell this one.  I’ve got ideas for a few short stories in this universe, but I’m also wanting to try and get a novel done that I can send out. So, thinking ahead to Round Four, I’m planning on working on a different novel, one that isn’t part of a series (or if it is, will be the first book of a series).   But that is for the future. For now, there is typing!

And, on the plus side, I’m learning things about writing a novel with this project that will, hopefully, we very helpful come the next book.

Goals for this Week: Finish typing up Chapter Three and move on to Chapter Four.  Continue to combat the insecurity monster that rides on the back of my head and tries to tell me that I’m wasting my time and all the other usual hogwash.

# # # # #

Powered by Linky Tools, A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life. You can learn more here and if you want to join, you can Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

2 thoughts on “AROW80 Check-In: 7/16/2014

  1. WOW! You finished early in the morning!! I don’t know how you do it. I’m zonked by around 11pm.

    Keeping going with the revision is the best thing. It’d be too easy, as you say, to just keep revising the first three chapters otherwise.

    I’m interested in why you start with the last book in the series. Will you write them all in reverse chronological order? There’s a lot to be said for that method. Keeping the storylines consistent will be much easier, I would think.

    Best of luck with the typing. 🙂

    • I work late seconds/early thirds so I’m usually up late even on my days off *G*

      I didn’t intend to start with the last book; when I originally began working on it, it was meant to be the first book but then I kept trying to figure out the history before the beginning of the book which led to me thinking that hey, these were stories that might be interesting and, blam! First book becomes last book!

      And you’re right, working on the last book first has led to my notes for the earlier books having more consistency. I was thinking of starting book one when I’m done with book five but…y’know, the idea of writing the books in reverse chronological order isn’t a bad one!

Comments are closed.