AROW80 4th Quarter Check-In: 10/8/2014

Goals for this Round – which are some of my goals from last time around, rewritten and/or adapted for continued use:

  1. Finish typing up DEFCON: FADE OUT: I’ve been working on this and have managed to type up everything I had in both of my notebooks. Now, I’m working on the extra scenes that I’ve written over the last month or so. I’m expecting to finish off with a grand total of around 137,000 words (more or less).
  2. Create a cohesive manuscript:Last round, I figured I had about 3/4th of a story set down for Defcon: Fade Out. I’m still fairly confident that this is the case. The problem is, I don’t have an ending and I’m not really sure about my beginning. The middle feels fairly strong – or at least complete. I also keep running plots and motives through my head and have been jumping from idea to idea to idea to idea.

At its heart, the plot of Defcon: Fade Out focuses on a murder and I’ve been trying to figure out a good, solid motive for the murder. It’s less a question of not having an idea versus being spoiled for choice. So, once everything is typed up and printed out, my plan is to go through the extra bits of the manuscript and start trimming bits away to get to the heart of the story I want to tell. Then, it’s going to be time to outline a nice, tight outline.

One of my goals for November is to use Nanowrimo to write the missing and/or necessary scenes to fill out the manuscript and make it into a cohesive whole. It’s still going to need editing after that but at least this will put me closer to having something that is editable and not just a collection of scenes still needing to be linked together.

  1. As a secondary goal, I want to try and come up with ideas for shorter stories. Ok, this goal is more or less unchanged from last round and amounts to this: This is a blatant attempt on my part to try and produce some potentially marketable fiction with an aim toward making some money. Not a lot, just enough for me to be able to say “I wrote this and I got paid for it!”

The good news is, I’ve got an idea for a shorter piece to set in the Defcon ‘Verse and I’ve been noodling around with ideas for stories set in other story ‘verses.

  1. Be better about checking in with folks. Back at the beginning of Round Three, I lamented the fact that I let checking in with other folks fall by the wayside and intended on checking in with others with more regularity. By the end of Round Three, I’d more or less stopped checking in with my own blog so, yeah, that was one ball that was well and truly dropped. I’m going to work on being better about keeping hold of it this time around.

# # # # #

Powered by Linky Tools, A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life. You can learn more here and if you want to join, you can Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

 

4 thoughts on “AROW80 4th Quarter Check-In: 10/8/2014

  1. Excellent goals, and you’ve made some great progress already 🙂 I look forward to catching up with you again, to share and celebrate your progress.

Comments are closed.